Friends of the African Union

We, the African Diaspora in the USA, can be a change Africa needs – now .

2017 Chairman of the AssemblyAU and the EUChairmanFAU GuineaThe Assembly

Guinea’s President Alpha Condé is also the current Chairman of the Assembly of the African Union

In an interview with Euronews in Paris, Guinea’s President Alpha Condé, who is also the current Chairman of the Assembly of the African Union, has called for a new era of self-reliance to drive development and end poverty on the continent.

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia 30 January 2017: The new Chairperson of the African Union (AU), H.E. Mr. Alpha Conde, President of the Republic of Guinea, was elected today, Monday 30 January 2017, by the Heads of State and Government of the African Union, during their 28th Ordinary Session holding in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

President Alpha Conde is taking over from H.E. Mr. Idriss Deby Itno, President of the Republic of Chad as the new Chairperson of the African Union for the year 2017.

The newly elected bureau of the African Union as announced by the Dean of the African Diplomatic Corps is as follows:

Chairperson:                       H.E Mr. Alpha Conde. President of the Republic of Guinea

First Vice-Chairperson:          H.E Mr. Yoweri Kaguta Museveni, President of the Republic of  Uganda

Second Vice-Chairperson:   H.E Mr. Abdelaziz Bouteflika, President of the People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria

Third Vice- Chairperson:       His Majesty King MSWATI III, of the Kinfdom of Swaziland

Rapporteur:                              H.E Mr. Idriss Deby Itno, President of the Republic of Chad.

During the handing over ceremony, the outgoing Chairperson of the Union, President Idriss Debby thanked his peers and the AU Commission for the support they gave him during his mandate. He commended the AU Commission under the leadership of H.E. Dr Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma for the good work in pursuing the transformation reforms under Agenda 2063 and for the support she gave him during his mandate.

President Debby said he had the privilege as Chair of the Union to travel all over the continent and beyond with the view of putting Africa First and presenting the developmental goals pursued by the continent. He said, he had the opportunity in this capacity to visit many African countries and he cherished the moments when he met with the young people who are the future of tomorrow.  “It was an honour to guide our Organisation to implement its vision of the Africa We Want.”  He further underscored the need for the continent to be peaceful, united and prosperous. He also noted that the African Stand by Force has to be effectively operationalized so that it can play its rightful role in ensuring peace and security within the continent. Before handing over the symbols of the Union to his successor, President Idriss Deby of Chad assured President Alpha Conde of Guinea that he can count on his continued support.

Speaking earlier, the Chairperson of the AU Commission, Dr. Dlamini Zuma thanked the outgoing Chairperson of the Union, for the excellent cooperation and guidance offered during his term in 2017; “including the politics and history classes that punctuated the deliberations, and that kept us engaged”, she underlined.

The newly elected Chair of the Union, President Alpha Conde, hailed the outgoing Chairperson for his panafrican spirit and commitment to put Africa’s Agenda at the center of priorities during his term as Chair of the Union. President Conde highlighted in his acceptance speech the major programs to be undertaken during his mandate.   He will have among other important duties to ensure the implementation by AU Member States the theme of the year 2017:

“Harnessing the Demographic Dividend through Investments in Youth”.

He will further mobilize the continent to implement the AU Agenda 2063 with the view to place Africa as a key player in the global arena.